NANOWRIMO

Well, I did it. I completed the NANOWRIMO (National Novel Writing Month) challenge and wrote a book I had been holding in my head for the better part of three years. I “won” the challenge by completing, “Tea with Henry” in….drum roll…eight days. I wrote a little over the first several days (8,000-odd words). But then I put the pedal to the metal and cranked out 44,000+ words in the final eight days.

I was told by my mentor, Ruth Beebe Hill, that I was prolific. I just never knew that I could pull it out of my head so fast. I thought for sure that when I reviewed what I had written, it would be a jumbly mish-mash of verbal disaster. I was pleasantly surprised to be wrong on that point.

I am at a point in my life that I question everything, “Why did I ever become an attorney?” being foremost on that list. One thing I never doubted was my ability to spin a ripping yarn. That I can do with ease…in my head. Apparently I can translate those sometimes hilarious thoughts to paper…er, screen.

Ironically, I have several more novels buried in my brain closet somewhere. I am hopeful that this year I can find them. Hopefully that will not be equivalent to Obamacare actually working for those of us in the middle class.  But that is a subject for another day.

Happy new year everyone. Sorry I htea with henry blueave been gone so long.

 

 

 

 

About authorlisaadams

Love to write and read books. Became an attorney - not sure why. Surfer, world traveler, vague bohemian and a general outside the box individual...and I like it that way. Makes life interesting and also makes for some good stories.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

