Civility in All Things

I would like to say, “Thank you” to all of you who follow me, read my posts, and generally do not mind a nerdy academic who happens to love writing books and studying medieval/Renaissance history and archaeology. Civility is severely underestimated today, and I think it would be a good thing if we all said, “thank you” to those who support us – no matter in what manner.

I’m not going to lie – I love it when someone reads what I write and likes it. Ironically, I also like the critics. After all, how else are you going to learn where your ego might have taken common sense on a swift boat south of a good story?

I see that little blue light blinking on my phone after I write a post and I actually read it immediately. Then I read the posts of the people who liked my post. It’s cool.

I look back on how much I blabbed on the phone with my friends when I was in high school. There were no cell phones, no text messages, no internet – although yes, Gracie, we had computers…just not the desktop type yet. I remember how cool it felt when my friends, teachers, or professors thought I had a good idea. I really loved that my friends thought my stories were funny as hell and quite fun to read.

I wrote Haiku, prose, poetry and I loved the written word. I wrote my first book when I was 11. I immersed myself in Arthurian legends, Tolkien landscapes and languages, and James Herriot’s animal vet stories. A boy I knew even wrote me a poem which I still remember today.

Knowing my love of language and words, it makes me really happy when you guys enjoy what I write. I will say it again, “Thank you!” May you all enjoy the thrill of seeing the blue light blinking and reading that someone likes your post and/or is following your blog.¬† Go wordsmiths!DSC_0332

Now if I could only nap like our Akita with bad dog shoe by my side, life would be most sublime.

About authorlisaadams

Love to write and read books. Became an attorney - not sure why. Surfer, world traveler, vague bohemian and a general outside the box individual...and I like it that way. Makes life interesting and also makes for some good stories.
This entry was posted in humor, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

